Browse meetings

Burial Authority Committee

This page lists the meetings for Burial Authority Committee.


Information about Burial Authority Committee

Click here to view archived agenda’s and minutes for the Burial Authority Committee


Burial Authority (BA)



Six members


Chair and Vice Chair to be elected from the members of the Committee at the first meeting in each Council year. The serving Mayor will not be eligible for either of these positions.


Four members


As required





Reports to:

Full Council


Management and operation of Churchtown Cemetery and to work within the individual delegated authority budget.


Terms of Reference & Matters Delegated to the Committee:

1.  The provision and management of a burial and cremated remains service.


2.  The improvement, maintenance and management of the grounds in Churchtown Cemetery.


3.  To consider such matters as may be delegated by the Council from time to time.


4.  Reviewing the level of fees and charges of the Committee’s functions and making appropriate recommendations to the P & F Committee.


5.  To consider and submit to the P & F Committee annual estimates of income and expenditure on continuing services and capital expenditure for the forthcoming year and 5-year forecast.


6.  Authorization of expenditure within the Committee budget, provided that the payment is made from a budget that is within the limits of the scheme of delegation or previously approved by the Council. The Committee cannot commit or spend from future budgets not confirmed or from future years.


7.  The virement of funds within the Committee total budget must be authorized by the P & F Committee.


8.  All aspects of Health and Safety that fall within the remit of the Committee.


9.  Making recommendations to the Council on all matters not within existing policy.


10.  Preparation and review of a plan for future requirements within the scope of the Committee regardless of feasibility.


Matters not delegated to the Committee:

Any matter falling within the remit of the Committee which involves the introduction of a new policy or changes to existing policy, future direction and strategy.